韦尔斯利高中(Wellesley High School)已实施了包括但不限于Canvas学习管理系统(LMS),教育版Google Workspace,Turnitin学术写作和研究以及Naviance学院和职业准备的电子教育环境。无论是在学校还是在远程学习,学校希望在Wellesley高中就读的学生都能在这个电子教育环境中使用自己的笔记本电脑。无法携带私人笔记本电脑的学生可以要求在学校上课期间使用学校发行的Chromebook。有资格的家庭可获得数量有限的PTSO补助金

在初中1:1方案的基础上,高中学生在该方案中拥有更多选择。学生会选择笔记本电脑的类型(Mac,Windows,Chromebook和Linux)并学习管理自己的笔记本电脑,为上大学和工作做准备。作为笔记本电脑的管理员,学生可以发展技术技能以及在技术维护和保养方面的独立性。

以下是在2021-22学年进入高中的学生的具体推荐。

BYOL(家庭提供)– Mac,Windows,Chromebook和Linux

新笔记本电脑推荐:

一台可以在高中学习整整四年的笔记本电脑。这些是基于该基准的一般建议。

一些较新的笔记本电脑可能仅在计算机上具有USB C端口。在某些科学实验中,需要将探头连接到标准USB端口。在这种情况下,需要USB-C转USB适配器。

Chromebook已成为笔记本电脑的一种非常划算,多功能且流行的替代品。它们可用于大多数日常学业。但是,Chromebook有一些限制。 Chromebook与MCAS测试系统以及我们的艺术,电视制作和Evolutions课程中使用的高级照片和视频编辑软件不兼容。此外,在Windows或Mac笔记本电脑上,辅助功能工具(语音转换为文本,视力支持等)和计算机编程更好运行。对于有兴趣追求这些学习领域的学生,请在您决定中考虑这些限制。对于需要使用替代设备的学生,将以先到先得的方式提供有限数量的借用笔记本电脑。正在修理设备且没有设备的学生会在借用笔记本电脑时优先。

这是对决定使用Chromebook或笔记本电脑(Mac或Windows)有用的链接

有资格的家庭可以使用区赞助的互联网服务。

Chromebooks:价格范围〜$ 400- $ 1100

  • 屏幕尺寸:12英寸或更大
  • 处理器:基于AMD / Intel-based
  • 硬盘:32 GB
  • 内存:4GB
  • WiFi:802.11ac
  • 电池寿命:8小时以上
  • 保修:3年

笔记本电脑(Win,Mac,Linux):价格范围〜$ 600- $ 1800

  • 屏幕尺寸:13英寸或更大
  • 处理器:i5或更高
  • 硬盘驱动器:256 GB(SSD –固态驱动器)
  • 内存:8GB
  • WiFi:802.11ac
  • 电池寿命:8小时以上
  • 保修:3年

较旧的笔记本电脑建议:

如果您在家中已经拥有了一台笔记本电脑,以下是在学校中可以使用的较旧笔记本电脑的基本要求。

  • 能够运行最新版本的本机操作系统(OS)
  • 使用时间5年以下
  • 可用磁盘空间来安装软件(取决于课程所需的软件)
  • 电池可持续使用至少6个小时
  • 建议进行操作系统的全新安装,并在可能的情况下安装新电池

学校发布的

经济支援:

通过免费减价午餐计划或韦尔斯利公立学校的经济援助政策获得经济援助的家庭,将获得在学年使用学校提供的设备的资格(包括在晚上带回家)。该设备仍属于韦尔斯利公立学校的财产。经济援助的申请必须每年提交一次,可以在这里找到 – 经济援助信息链接致电781-446-6210分机5439 或发送电子邮件至 1to1coordinator@wellesleyps.org

学校发行的设备:

没有笔记本电脑的家庭可以要求学校发放的Chromebook在学年内使用(包括晚上带回家)。符合条件的家庭可获得数量有限的PTSO补助金。致电781-446-6210 分机 5439或发送电子邮件至 1to1coordinator@wellesleyps.org


Translation Icon

This document was translated with pride by WPS volunteer students and edited by volunteer parents as a service to our community.  If you have comments, compliments, or would like to contribute, please contact us at higginsa@wellesleyps.org.
以上文字由韦尔斯利公立学校的学生志愿者翻译,并由家长志愿者编辑完成,以期服务社区。如果您有任何建议,鼓励,或想提供任何形式的帮助,请发邮件联系我们。邮件地址是higginsa@wellesleyps.org。

Secured By miniOrange

Wellesley High School has implemented a digital learning environment using applications including but not limited to Canvas Learning Management System (LMS), Google Education Workspace, Turnitin Academic Writing and Research, and Naviance College and Career Readiness. Students attending Wellesley High School are expected to utilize their own laptops in this digital learning environment whether the learning is in school or remote. Students that cannot bring their own laptops may request a school-issued Chromebook for use during the school year. A limited number of PTSO Grants are available for families that qualify.

Building off the Middle School 1:1 program, students at the High School have more choice in the program. Students choose the type of laptop (Mac, Windows, Chromebooks) and learn to administer their own laptops, preparing them for college and the workforce. As administrators of their laptops, students develop technical skills and independence in the care and maintenance of technology.

Below are the recommended specifications for students entering the High School in the 2021-22 school year.

BYOL (Family Provided) – Mac, Windows, Chromebooks

New laptop Suggestions:

A laptop that will last the full four years of High School. These are general suggestions based on that benchmark.

Some newer laptops might only have USB C ports on a computer. There will be a need in some Science labs to connect probes to a standard USB port. In this case, a USB-C to USB adapter is required. 

Chromebooks have become a very cost-effective, versatile, and popular alternative to a laptop. They can be used for most everyday student use; however, a Chromebook has some limitations. A Chromebook is not compatible with the MCAS testing system and the advanced photo and video editing software used in our Art, TV Production, and Evolutions courses. Additionally, accessibility tools (speech to text, vision support, etc.) and computer programming work better on a Windows or Mac laptop. For students interested in pursuing these areas of study, please consider the restrictions in your decision. A limited amount of loaner laptops will be available on a first-come, first-serve basis for students who need to use an alternate device. The priority for loaner laptops is given to students whose device is being repaired and are without a device.

Here is a helpful link for deciding on a Chromebook or Laptop (Mac or Windows)

District-sponsored internet services are available for families who qualify.

Chromebooks: Price Range ~$400-$1100

  • Screen Size: 12″ or bigger
  • Processor: AMD/Intel-based
  • Hard Drive: 32 GB
  • RAM: 4GB
  • WiFi: 802.11ac
  • Battery Life: 8 Hours +
  • Warranty: 3 Years

Laptops (Win, Mac): Price Range ~$600-$1800

  • Screen Size: 13″ or bigger
  • Processor: i5 or better
  • Hard Drive: 256 GB (SSD – Solid State Drive)
  • RAM: 8GB
  • WiFi: 802.11ac
  • Battery Life: 8 Hours +
  • Warranty: 3 Years

Older laptop suggestions:

If you have a laptop at home already, these are general guidelines for bringing an older laptop that will work in our schools.

  • Capable of running the latest version of the native Operating System (OS)
  • Less than five years old
  • Available disk space to install software (depends on the software needed for courses)
  • The battery can last at least 6 hrs
  • It is suggested for a clean installation of the Operating System and, if possible, install a new battery.

School-Issued

Financial Assistance:

Families that qualify for Financial Assistance through the Free and Reduced Lunch Program or the Wellesley Public Schools’ Financial Assistance Policy will be provided a device for use during the school year (including taking it home at night). The device remains the property of the Wellesley Public Schools. Applications for financial assistance must be filed annually and can be found here – Financial Assistance Information Link. Call 781-446-6210 ext. 5439 or email 1to1coordinator@wellesleyps.org.

School-Issued Device:

Families that cannot bring their own laptops may request a school-issued Chromebook for use during the school year (including taking it home at night). A limited number of PTSO Grants are available for families that qualify. Call 781-446-6210 ext. 5439 or email 1to1coordinator@wellesleyps.org.

Secured By miniOrange