globe-peopleGoals of ELE Program

The goals of the Wellesley Public Schools English Learner Education program are:

  • to evaluate and assess our English language learners needs and create a multiple skills based program based on those needs balanced with the content demands of the mainstream classes
  •  to support, enhance, and advance the ELL’s natural language acquisition through small group instruction with the ultimate goal of the ELL being able to participate meaningfully in the classroom and perform both in class and out of class work without modifications and/or accommodations .
  •  to continually monitor the progress of all ELLs: those currently being serviced as well as those having exited the ELL program
  • to provide training for and consultation with classroom and content teachers and other support staff concerning the unique support needed by ELL students

ELE Staff:

Director:
Anne Higgins higginsa@wellesleyps.org

Fiske Elementary School:
Jennifer Eramo  eramoj@wellesleyps.org
Jaymee Mannix mannixj@wellesleyps.org

Hardy Elementary School:
Karen Pekowitz pekowitzk@wellesleyps.org
Lauren Torrielli torriellil@wellesleyps.org

Sprague Elementary School:
Joni Magee mageej@wellesleyps.org

Wellesley Middle School:
Jennifer Hannon hannonj@wellesleyps.org

Wellesley High School (Room 310):
Jenna Stacy stacyj@wellesleyps.org