2020-21 WPS Academic Calendar Grid

2020
Aug 26, 27 & 28 (Wed-Fri) New Professional Staff
Aug 31 thru Sept 11 Teacher Prep & Bldg Reacclimation
September 7 (Monday) Labor Day – No School
September 14-15 Student Check-ins/Introductions
September 16 (Wed) 1/2 Day – First Day – All Students – All Remote
September 28 (Monday) Yom Kippur – No School
October 1 (Thursday) Cohort A Students Return in Person*
October 2 (Friday) Cohort B Students Return in Person†
October 5 – Onward Reg Hybrid Schedule
October 12 (Monday) Columbus Day – No School
October 27 (Tuesday) Early Dismissal PreK-5 Parent Conf
November 3 (Tuesday) 1/2 Day Remote – Elections (see note)
November 11 (Wednesday) Veteran’s Day – No School
November 25 (Wednesday) All Schools & Staff Half Day
November 26-27 (Thurs,Fri) Thanksgiving Recess – No School
November 30 (Monday) Professional Day – No School
December 24 – January 1 Year-end Vacation
2021
January 4 (Monday) School Reopens
January 18 (Monday) Martin Luther King Day – No School
February 15 – 19 February Vacation Week
April 2 (Friday) Good Friday – No School
April 6 (Tuesday) Early Dismissal PreK-5 Parent Conf
April 19 – 23 April Vacation Week
May 31 (Monday) Memorial Day – No School
June 4 (Friday) WHS Grad/Half Day WHS Only
June 23&24 (Wed/Thurs) Final School Day (assumes 5 contingency days)‡
June 25 (Friday) Closing Day-Teachers Final School Day (assumes 5 contingency days)

*Cohort A: Monday/Thursday in school learning. Cohort A will follow Monday’s schedule on Wednesday for holiday weeks: 10/12, 11/30/20, 1/18 & 5/31/20.
†Cohort B: Tuesday/Friday in school learning. Cohort B will follow in-school schedule on Wednesday for missed in-school days on 11/3/20 and 4/2/21.
For SY20-21, every Wednesday will be a half day for students in grades K-12. Wednesdays will also be used as an in-school day for cohorts to balance weeks w/holidays or other events.

‡NOTE: For Cohorts A & B, the final day of school will be an in-person half day. With no contingency days used, Cohort A’s last day will be June 16 and Cohort B’s last day will be June 17. With 5 contingency days, Cohort A’s last day will be June 23 and Cohort B’s last day will be June 24.

Please see PAWS Website for PAWS-Specific Start/Stop Dates

Student Scheduled Days

  • September – 10
  • October – 21
  • November – 17
  • December – 17
  • January – 19
  • February – 15
  • March – 23
  • April – 16
  • May – 20
  • June – 17
  • TOTAL: 175

Approved by School Committee: September 2, 2020

Secured By miniOrange