2020-21 WPS Academic Calendar Grid

2020
Aug 26, 27 & 28 (Wed-Fri) New Professional Staff
Aug 31 thru Sept 11 Teacher Prep & Bldg Reacclimation
September 7 (Monday) Labor Day – No School
September 14-15 Student Check-ins/Introductions
September 16 (Wed) 1/2 Day – First Day – All Students – All Remote
September 28 (Monday) Yom Kippur – No School
October 1 (Thursday) Cohort A Students Return in Person*
October 2 (Friday) Cohort B Students Return in Person†
October 5 – Onward Reg Hybrid Schedule
October 12 (Monday) Columbus Day – No School
October 27 (Tuesday) Early Dismissal PreK-5 Parent Conf
November 3 (Tuesday) 1/2 Day Remote – Elections (see note)
November 11 (Wednesday) Veteran’s Day – No School
November 25 (Wednesday) All Schools & Staff Half Day
November 26-27 (Thurs,Fri) Thanksgiving Recess – No School
November 30 (Monday) Professional Day – No School
December 24 – January 1 Year-end Vacation
2021
January 4 (Monday) School Reopens
January 18 (Monday) Martin Luther King Day – No School
February 15 – 19 February Vacation Week
April 2 (Friday) Good Friday – No School
April 6 (Tuesday) Early Dismissal PreK-5 Parent Conf
April 19 – 23 April Vacation Week
May 31 (Monday) Memorial Day – No School
June 4 (Friday) WHS Grad/Half Day WHS Only
June 17 (Thursday) Final School Day for Students (assumes no contingency days)‡
June 18 (Friday) Closing Day-Teachers Final School Day (assumes no contingency days)
June 19 (Saturday) Juneteenth

*Cohort A: Monday/Thursday in school learning.
†Cohort B: Tuesday/Friday in school learning. 
For SY20-21, every Wednesday will be a half day for students in grades K-12. Wednesdays will also be used as an in-school day for cohorts to balance weeks w/holidays or other events.

‡NOTE: The final day of school will be a half day. Assuming no contingency days, the last day will be June 17th for all students. For elementary students there will be only one half day during the final week of school. If the last day of school is a Thursday or Friday, the preceding Wednesday shall be a full day.

Please see PAWS Website for PAWS-Specific Start/Stop Dates

Student Scheduled Days

  • September – 10
  • October – 21
  • November – 17
  • December – 17
  • January – 19
  • February – 15
  • March – 23
  • April – 16
  • May – 20
  • June – 17
  • TOTAL: 175

Approved by School Committee: September 2, 2020 (Revised 4/13/21)

Secured By miniOrange